travel

Road Trip Part 2-Mount Rainier and Mount St Helens

Mount Rainier

IMG_1642

Mount Rainer was one of my favorite parts of the trip.  It’s south of Seattle, and it is a must see.  It’s so beautiful and just amazing.  We went in early November, so it wasn’t very crowded.   There were still a lot of people there.

Driving up the mountain was a little nerve-wracking.  I’m a nervous passenger to begin with, so I was really driving my husband crazy as he drove up the mountain.    Sometimes the road was so windy that it looked like we were going to drive off the edge of the mountain.

Luckily, there were lots of places to pull off and take pictures.  We stopped every so often and hiked.  It was so quiet and peaceful.

We drove up the mountain as far as we could.  Unfortunately, it was snowing hard, so the park closed the road at a certain part, so we couldn’t go any further.   We did see people climbing up to the summit even in the snow.  It was amazing to see them all the way up towards the top.

Mount St Helens

IMG_1673

We had spent so much time at Mount Rainier, that I wasn’t sure that we would be able to go to Mount St Helens.  It was ok, but was one of those things that I wasn’t sure that was worth the time.

Mount St. Helens is a volcano.  Since I had never seen a volcano before, I was pretty excited.

It was cloudy when we went, so we didn’t really get to see much.  Plus, since it was November, there wasn’t much to see.  We could see the smoke from the top, but it was hard to tell what was smoke and what was cloud.

I was so excited to see Mount St Helens, so it was a little disappointing.  When planning for the time, everything online said that if you had to choose between Mount Rainier and Mount St Helens, Mount St Helens was better.  I couldn’t disagree more.  I loved Mount Rainier and didn’t really care for Mount St Helens.

Maybe if we went during the summer, I would like it better.

After a disappointing trip to Mount St Helens, we drove to Portland for the night.  The next morning, I had the best view of Mount St Helens.  If I had known that I could see it that good from my hotel window, I wouldn’t have driven all the way out there.

A tip if you are going to either or both: Make sure you write down the directions.  We just used our phones.  Well, we planned on using our phones.  Being from the flat Midwest, I didn’t even think about cell reception.  We didn’t have any basically the entire time we were driving between Mount Rainier and Mount St Helens.  We got lost a lot, and had to keep stopping and asking for directions.

 

Leave a Reply

