travel

Travel essentials you must have in your carry on

 

I love to travel.  I love to fly.  I am one of those people who sit on the plane and sleep for about half the trip, but I have to have something to do for the other half.  I can’t just sit there, waiting for the flight to be over.  And, honestly, I tend to fly on airlines that are too cheap to provider in-flight entertainment.   Just because my flight was cheap doesn’t mean that I shouldn’t have a luxurious flight.

Each time I pack my carry on, I have to have these essentials in order to have a relaxing flight experience.

A tablet

Apple iPad

Now that Netflix allows you to download shows, I have to have my tablet with me.  The last flight I was on, I watched 6 episodes of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.  The comedy made my flight so much more enjoyable.  The woman next to me kept looking on my screen to see what I was laughing at.

I prefer to fly with a tablet instead of a computer because they are smaller, and for the most part, do the same thing as a laptop.

Headphones


Naztech i9BT Over-Ear Active Noise Cancelling Wireless Headphones

Whether you are listening to music or watching Netflix, headphones are a necessity for flying.  I recommend noise cancelling ones so it will block out the sound of screaming babies.  Bonus: if you are sitting next to someone who won’t stop talking to you, pop in your headphones.  It’s the international symbol of “Leave me alone.”

A book

The Zookeeper’s Wife: A War Story

Yes, you can download books onto your tablet, but there is something rewarding about reading an actual paper book on the plane.  I love going to the bookstore at the airport and picking out something to read.  It’s an airport ritual for me.

Water Bottle

CamelBak Chute Water Bottle

Staying hydrated is important especially on a long flight.  It’s so easy to get dehydrated with the dry plane air blowing on you.  Drinking water will help with jetlag and will keep your skin nice and moisturized, so you don’t have any post-plane breakouts.

BB cream

Maybelline New York Dream Fresh BB Cream

I wish I was one of those people who could get off the plane and look like they haven’t been traveling all day.  I am so not one of those people.  When I get off the plane, my skin is splotchy and gross.  Now, before the plane starts to land, I apply some BB cream to look a little more put together.

Brushes

Sephora Collection Sleepover Toothbrush – Pink

I must have a toothbrush and a hairbrush in my carry on.  Both are must haves.  There is nothing more horrible than waking up after a nap on the plane with morning breath.  I quickly head to the bathroom and brush my teeth to feel more refreshed.  At the same time, I give my hair a quick brush to tame my unruly hair.

Lotion

Crabtree & Evelyn Ultra Moisturising Hand Therapy Rosewater

Something about airplane air makes my skin get so dry.  I have to have a nice, thick hand lotion in my carry on to stop dry, cracked hands.

Lip balm

L’Oreal Paris Colour Riche Lip Balm, Pink Satin

The dryness also affects my lips.  Lip balm is a life saver.  Can’t go on the plane without it.

Eyemask

Plemo Sleep Mask

When I want to sleep, I slip my eye mask and headphones on.  It turns out the entire plane and allows me to get some sleep.

Snacks

SkinnyPop Popcorn

There is nothing worse than being hungry on a plane, so I always bring snacks.  I like to eat snacks that can give me energy and by filling, but not be totally unhealthy.

Blanket scarf

Plaid Blanket Scarf

I absolutely have to travel with a blanket scarf.  It’s one on the most versatile things in my carry on.  It’s not only a scarf, but you can roll it up and use it as a pillow.  If the plane is too cold, you can use it as a blanket.  It’s so handy to have with you.

Tote

Tahari Metropolis Tote Handbag (ROSE GOLD)

No carry on essentials list can be complete without a cute tote to put it all in.  I recommend choosing a tote that has a zipper, so that nothing important accidentally spills out.  You can slide it under the seat and easily grab whatever you want from it.

Leave a Reply

